Firefighter Training: Entry Level (FF-I)
Class Date(s) Thursday, Feb 15 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Feb 17 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Feb 18 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Feb 20 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Feb 22 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Feb 24 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Feb 27 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Feb 29 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 2 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 3 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 5 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 7 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 9 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 10 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 12 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 14 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 16 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 17 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 19 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 21 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 23 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 24 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 26 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 28 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Tuesday, Apr 2 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 4 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 6 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Apr 7 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Apr 9 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 11 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 13 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Apr 14 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Apr 16 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 18 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 20 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Apr 21 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Apr 23 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 25 2024 7:00PM-10:00PM  Certification Challenge Written Exam
Saturday, Apr 27 2024 8:00AM-4:30PM  Certification Challenge Practical Exam
Class# 24FS91012  

Save this Class to Outlook (Click & Open)

The Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter curriculum is composed of four separate courses that together require 136 hours of both classroom and hands-on training. The training at times is rigorous and includes several days of live-smoke and live-fire training. Students must be in good physical condition in order to complete the class.

Chester County Public Safety Training Campus (PSTC) administers the entry level firefighter curriculum as one comprehensive course, inclusive of the four modules:

 Introduction to the Fire Service (ELIS)

 Fire Ground Support (ELFG)

 Exterior Firefighter (ELEF)

 Interior Firefighter (ELIF)

 

In addition, the following courses are also included to meet the standards of the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter Curriculum:

 Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation

 First Aid

 Hazardous Materials Awareness (HMAJB)

 Hazardous Materials Operations (HMOJB)

This course is designated Firefighter I. 

Students must by 17 years of age at the start of Module 4 Interior Firefighter.

Students who successfully complete this curriculum may test for National Firefighter I Certification.

Students who enroll in the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter program must conform to the Pennsylvania State Fire Academy’s Facial Hair Policy that requires a student be clean shaven except for a neatly trimmed moustache. This policy is enforced from day one of Firefighter I until the completion of the program, including the certification testing.

Upon completion of this course, the student should be able to safely and effectively perform the knowledge and skill objectives listed in the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter Curriculum.

These skills are used to safely and effectively operate at the scene of a fire or emergency. This course is intended develop an atmosphere of team-work, self-discipline, respect and a sense of duty in the fire service.

This course is administered with a level of military discipline. Through classroom sessions and practical fieldwork, this course will give the student the ability to function safely and effectively as a member of a fire department.

A combination of lecture, demonstration and supervised practice will be utilized. All knowledge and skills taught will be represented as described in the established curriculum.

Students must possess strong motor skills, good physical strength, endurance, self-discipline, the ability to understand and follow orders, work under stressful situations with risk to personal safety; have problem solving skills and work as a member of a team.

A student’s enrollment in this course demonstrates their commitment to maintaining the high standard of performance demanded of firefighters. This course will require hard work and perseverance on the student’s part.

The instructors will do everything possible to help the student become proficient in the course material, but the student’s success or failure, in the end is up to themselves.

All students in Firefighter I will be required to wear a uniform for each class. The uniform of the day shall consist of the following:

 PSTC Issued Shirt

 Dark blue trousers

 Black belt

 Black shoes with black laces/ black boots

 Black or dark blue socks with low-cut footwear

Price $700.00
  Class is Full
Click on Full Description for Registration Instructions
Class Location
Academic Bldg. #126
Public Safety Training Campus , 137 Modena Road
Coatesville, PA   19320
(610) 344-4100