Entry Level Firefighter Training (Firefighter I)
Class Date(s) Tuesday, Feb 11 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Feb 15 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Feb 16 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Thursday, Feb 20 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Feb 22 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Feb 23 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Feb 25 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Feb 27 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Feb 29 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 1 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 3 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 5 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 7 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 8 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 10 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 12 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 14 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 15 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 17 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 19 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 21 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 22 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 24 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Mar 26 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Mar 28 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Mar 29 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Mar 31 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 2 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 4 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Apr 5 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Apr 7 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Tuesday, Apr 14 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 16 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 18 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Sunday, Apr 19 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Tuesday, Apr 21 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Thursday, Apr 23 2020 7:00PM-10:00PM  
Saturday, Apr 25 2020 8:30AM-4:30PM  
Class# 20FS91011  

Save this Class to Outlook (Click & Open)

The Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter curriculum is composed of four separate courses that together require 188 hours of both classroom and hands-on training. The training at times is rigorous and includes several days of live-smoke and live-fire training. Students must be in good physical condition in order to complete the class.

Chester County Public Safety Training Campus (PSTC) administers the entry level firefighter curriculum as one comprehensive course, inclusive of the four modules:

 Introduction to the Fire Service (ELIS)

 Fire Ground Support (ELFG)

 Exterior Firefighter (ELEF)

 Interior Firefighter (ELIF)

 

In addition, the following courses are also included to meet the standards of the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter Curriculum:

 Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation

 First Aid

 Hazardous Materials Awareness (HMAJB)

 Hazardous Materials Operations (HMOJB)

Thiscourse is designated Firefighter I. 

Students must by 18 years of age at the start of this class.

Students who successfully complete this curriculum may test for National Firefighter I Certification.

Students who enroll in the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter program must conform to the Pennsylvania State Fire Academy’s Facial Hair Policy that requires a student be clean shaven except for a neatly trimmed moustache. This policy is enforced from day one of Firefighter I until the completion of the program, including the certification testing.

Upon completion of this course, the student should be able to safely and effectively perform the knowledge and skill objectives listed in the Pennsylvania Entry Level Firefighter Curriculum.

These skills are used to safely and effectively operate at the scene of a fire or emergency. This course is intended develop an atmosphere of team-work, self-discipline, respect and a sense of duty in the fire service.

This course is administered with a level of military discipline. Through classroom sessions and practical fieldwork, this course will give the student the ability to function safely and effectively as a member of a fire department.

A combination of lecture, demonstration and supervised practice will be utilized. All knowledge and skills taught will be represented as described in the established curriculum.

Students must possess strong motor skills, good physical strength, endurance, self-discipline, the ability to understand and follow orders, work under stressful situations with risk to personal safety; have problem solving skills and work as a member of a team.

A student’s enrollment in this course demonstrates their commitment to maintaining the high standard of performance demanded of firefighters. This course will require hard work and perseverance on the student’s part.

The instructors will do everything possible to help the student become proficient in the course material, but the student’s success or failure, in the end is up to themselves.

All students in Firefighter I will be required to wear a uniform for each class. The uniform of the day shall consist of the following:

 PSTC Issued Shirt

 Dark blue trousers

 Black belt

 Black shoes with black laces/ black boots

 Black or dark blue socks with low-cut footwear

Price $500.00
Seats  
Class Location
Academic Bldg. #126 / Classroom
Public Safety Training Campus , 137 Modena Road
Coatesville, PA   19320
(610) 344-4100